Found out I’m a diabetic.

I will never forget the day I found out I’m a diabetic! I had ended up in the emergency room with acute abdominal pain.  Seems I was in the middle of acute appendicitis at 2:30am.  May 5, 1999 was what I called my reality check time.

My blood work came back and show my AC1 to be around 325.  Now what I thought, most of my family is diabetic.  So I knew what was coming, I just thought maybe it would skip me.

I had watch family members die as I was growing up over the years. So fear started to take over, hell I thought I’m only 42 years old! The doctor gave me a list of diabetic doctors so I could pick one to go to.  He advised  me to pick one right away.   I would also need to go to the diabetes class to learn how to  control my sugar levels.

Great, when was I going to find time to fit all this in my work day?

next post will be on the diabetes class.

Leave a comment